Club History‎ > ‎



A feature of the 1980’s was Dúrlas Óg’s dominance in Mid under 12 hurling. We followed up our 1979 win by recording an unprecedented and probably never to be repeated twelve in a row of Mid titles from 1979 to 1990.  County titles were added in ’82, ’85, ’87 and ’89 and who would have thought back in 1989 that it would be our last time to win the county under 12 title.  We defeated Toomevara in the ’82 final in Templemore by 4-2 to 2-1. The teams were level at half time but second half goals from Brendan Carroll, Padraic Dundon and Graham O’Connor clinched our second under 12 title. Toomevara were also defeated in the ’87 final. The ’85 final saw us defeat Arravale Rovers in a low scoring (2-0 to 0-3) game at Golden and in 1989 we were victorious over Ballingarry by 1-5 to 0-1.


We won our first Under 14 county hurling title in 1984 defeating our great rivals Toomevara in the final at Borrisoleigh on a scoreline of 3-8 to 3-2.  The victorious panel was Brendan Carroll (Capt), Eddie Coman, Padraic Dundon, Damien Woods, Trevor Cooke, Thomas Maher, Clive Hanrahan, Thomas Hayes, Joe Ryan, Richard Corcoran, Seamus Quinn, Gary Purcell, Greg Rafter, Sean Callanan, Pat Jordan, Mark Jordan, Aidan Murphy, Rory O’Dowd, Ken Doherty, Graham O’Connor.  Further county titles were added in ’85 and ’89.  We scored a comprehensive win over Knockavilla Kickhams by 6-10 to 4-2 in the ’85 final and we defeated Toomevara by 5-9 to 3-2 in the ’89 final. We won six in a row Mid titles (1981 to 1986) and also won in 1988 and 1989.  Our ‘B’ team won a Mid Under 14 ‘B’ title in 1989 defeating Loughmore/Castleiney in the decider.  This team will be best remembered for their unforgettable display against Moycarkey-Borris in the second round. Moycarkey led by a whopping 15 points at half time but we scored an unbelievable 19 points in the second half to win by four.

Durlas Og County Under 14 Hurling Champions 1984

Back Row (L. to R.): Eddie Coman, Padraic Dundon, Damien Woods, Trevor Cooke, Thomas Maher, Clive Hanrahan, Thomas Hayes, Joe Ryan, Richard Corcoran, Seamus Quinn,.  Front Row (L. to R.): Gary Purcell, Greg Rafter, Sean Callanan, Pat Jordan, Brendan Carroll (Capt), Mark Jordan, Aidan Murphy, Rory O’Dowd, Ken Doherty, Graham O’Connor.



Dúrlas Óg created history in 1981 when our under 14 hurlers won the county Feile na nGael title for the first time to qualify to represent Tipperary in the All Ireland finals in Galway. We were hosted by the Castlegar club who had a strong team and proved too good for us. Compensation was at hand, however, when we won first prize for the best turned out team in the parade.  Our Feile panel was Andy Rossiter (Capt), Lar Mullaney, Tony O’Mara, Seamus O’Shea, Shane Gleeson, Seamus Maher, Denis Shanahan, George Shaughnessy, Seamus Devaney, Jim Woodlock, Dara Purcell, Mark Shaughnessy, Ger Mockler, Tom O’Sullivan, Joe Loughnane, Gerry Doyle, Timmy Ryan, Ciaran Carroll, Ger Kerrigan, Gerard O’Brien, Ronan Keher, Conor Moriarty. The selectors were Phil O’Mara, P.J. Grace, John Dunphy who served as Club Secretary from 1981 to 1984 and Pat Stakelum. Durlas Óg also represented Tipperary in the All Ireland Feile na nGael finals in 1985 (Wexford), 1987 (Clare) and 1989 (Laois).


Two county and four Mid under 16 titles were won in the 1980’s.  Our first Mid title was in 1983 followed by further successes in ’86, ’87 and ’88.  In 1986 we went all the way and won our first under 16 county title. We defeated Toomevara in the county semi final and Arravale Rovers in the final on a scoreline of 3-8 to 3-5.  The winning team was: P. Delaney, J. Ryan, T. Maher, D. O’Shea, P. Jordan, C. Hanrahan, G. Purcell, B. Carroll, S. Callanan, S. Quinn, E. Coman, B. O’Mahony, R. O’Dowd, T. Cooke, G. O’Connor.  Subs: D. Woods and K. Doherty.  The 1987 county final was a repeat of the ’86 decider and we again came out on top by 5-4 to 2-7.



Like our hurlers we also dominated the Mid at under 12 level during to the 80’s winning divisional titles each year with the exception of 1984 and 1986. Most years we fielded three under 12 teams and our ‘B’ team won Mid ‘B’ titles in 1980 and 1986. Our first county football title was won in 1981when our under 12’s defeated Clonmel Commercials in the county final at Bansha by 2-6 to 1-6.. The team was Liam McCormack, Pat Minogue, Bill Mullaney, Paul Gooney, Brendan Carroll, Fionn Stakelum, Kenneth O’Connor, Joe Loughnane, Pat Jordan, Mark Shaughnessy, Paul Mockler, David Tynan, Paul Fitzgerald, Walter Doyle, Brian Mahony.  Subs: Michael Gleeson and Stephen Grace. The under 12’s won county honour again in 1983 defeating  Arravale Rovers by 3-4 to 2-3 in the final. The panel was Ray Corbett, Padraig Dundon, Greg Rafter, Noel Dunne, Gary Purcell, Clive Hanrahan, Donal O’Grady, Graham O’Connor (Capt), Seamus Quinn, Declan Long, Thomas Ryan, Jimmy Chute, Seamus Quinn, Ken Doherty, Barry O’Dowd, Johnny Mahony and Aidan Claffey.

 Durlas Og County Under 12 Football Champions 1983

Back Row (L. to R.): Liam Hanrahan (Selector), Jim Corbett, Clive Hanrahan, Greg Rafter, Seamus Quinn, Denis Macken, Padraic Dundon, Raymond Corbett, Gerry Spain (Selector), Seamus Quinn, Aidan Claffey, A. Coman, Noel Dunne, Ken Doherty, Larry O’Connor (Selector).  Front Row (L. to R.): Richard Cotter, Lar Barrett, Jimmy Chute, Donal O’Grady, Graham O’Connor (Capt), Gary Purcell, Tom Ryan, Barry O’Dowd, Declan Long, Seanie  Mullaney.


The under 14’s also dominated the Mid division during the 1980’s winning the title each year with the exception of 1986. Our ‘B’ team won Mid honour in 1985. Despite our dominance at divisional level we won only one county title.  This was achieved in 1989 when we recorded our first county football and hurling double.  We scored a comprehensive win over Nenagh Eire Óg in the county semi final and this set up a final that was a repeat of the 1987 under 12 decider which was won by Clonmel Commercials.  On this occasion we got the better of the exchanges and won by 2-6 to 1-8 at Cashel to go into the record books as the first team from the club to win county under 14 football honours. The victorious panel that recorded a famous football and hurling double in 1989 was Bill Fitzgerald (Capt. football), Pat Murray (Capt. Hurling), Liam Dwyer, Tom Gooney, Tom Fogarty, Melvin Brennan, Gerry Spain, Philip Butler, Raymond O’Dowd, Padraig Barrett, Michael McCarthy, John Callinan, Peter Broderick, Michael Cleary, Gavin Purcell, Jimmy D’Arcy, Raymond Carew, Liam Mockler, Patrick Gleeson, Tom Larkin, Matthew Ryan.


We represented Tipperary in the All Ireland Feile Peil na nÓg finals in 1984 and 1985.  The 1984 finals were held in Cavan and we were beaten in the quarter final by St. Eunan’s (Donegal).  We travelled to Cork for the 1985 finals and we won our first three matches before going down to London.


We won our first Mid under 16 title in 1981 defeating Templemore Eire Óg by 2-5 to 1-4 in the final played at Semple Stadium.  The Tipperary Star report stated that “for the new champions, centre-half  back Murty Bryan, one of the tallest players ever seen in juvenile games, John Dorney, Peter Mullen, Seamus O’Shea and Ritchie Rossiter did best”.  Mid titles were won also in ’86 and ’87.


Tops of the Town

While football and hurling had been the main concerns, there was more to the club than simply games.  Dúrlas Óg participated successfully in Scór competitions and a highlight during the early years was always our Tops of the Town competition for juveniles.  While the town was divided into four areas (Loughtagalla, Bohernanave, Clongour and The Avenues) some didn’t take the geographical boundaries too seriously. Loughtagalla were the inaugural winners. The Scoil Ailbhe Hall was always thronged to capacity for what was one of the highlights of the year.