Durlas Óg……………….. . 3-5

Clonoulty-Rossmore…….. 0-4

Durlas Óg scored an impressive victory over Clonoulty-Rossmore in the County Feile na nGael final played before a sizeable attendance at Boherlahan last Thursday. Durlas Óg set the foundation for this win with two crucial first half goals to lead by eight points at the interval. Despite the best efforts of Clonoulty-Rossmore in the second half the Thurles defence were outstanding and they went on to record a deserving victory. They will now go forward to represent Tipperary in the All-Ireland finals in Cork on 17th, 18th and 19th June. The early exchanges were close and the sides were level at two points each after ten minutes. Michael Russell and Aidan McCormack were on target for Durlas Óg and Aidan Ryan and Padraig Heffernan were the Clonoulty-Rossmore scorers. A Tommy Doyle pointed free in the 15th minute gave the Thurles side the lead and the same player goaled a minute later following a great run by Cian Treacy down the left wing . With a minute of the first half remaining Denis Maher had a goal from a 20 metre free following a foul on full forward, Aidan McCormack and Maher also had the last score of the half when he pointed a ‘65’ in injury time to leave his side leading by 2-4 to 0-2 at the interval. The second half was very tight with both defences on top. Thomas Butler had two pointed frees for Clonoulty-Rossmore to reduce the Durlas Óg lead to six points with eight minutes remaining. At this stage Clonoulty need a goal but the Thurles side defended magnificently with their goalie, J.P. Dempsey called upon to make some good saves. Durlas Óg’s first score of the second half didn’t come until the 37th minute when Aidan McCormack scored a good point from 30 metres. The Durlas Óg victory was sealed two minutes later when Robert Murphy goaled with an unstoppable shot from close range. Durlas Óg were delighted with this victory and their very evenly balanced team can now look forward to representing Tipperary in the All-Ireland finals next month. Clonoulty-Rossmore contributed to an excellent match and despite losing on this occasion they will still have a big say in the destination of this year’s Under 14 championship. Teams and scorers:

Durlas Óg: J.P. Dempsey; Patrick Dunne, Rory O’Shea, Padraic Crone; Shane Dempsey, Denis Maher (1-1), David Maher; Stephen Maher, Michael Russell (0-1); Darragh Ronayne, Robert Murphy (1-0), Donal O’Gorman; Tommy Doyle (1-1), Aidan McCormack (0-2), Cian Treacy.

Clonoulty-Rossmore: Kieran Carroll; Michael Quinn, Kieran Ryan, Philip Kearney; Niall Shanahan, Thomas Butler (0-2), Cait Devane; Philip Ryan, Martin Sadlier; Seamus Carew, Padraig Heffernan (0-1), Aaron Ryan; Aidan White, Aidan Ryan (0-1), Conor Hammersley. Substitutes: Kevin Maher for Kearney; Joseph Slattery for Carew; Philip Quirke for Hammersley.

Referee: F. O’Brien (Fr. Sheehys).

County Under 14 'A' Hurling Final

Durlas Óg……………………4-12

Clonmel Óg…………………. 0-4

Durlas Óg scored a convincing win over Clonmel Óg in the Campion Insurance Group Under 14 ‘A’ hurling final in Semple Stadium on Sunday. Durlas Óg were the stronger team and they displayed an excellent first touch and an abundance of skill to bring the county title back to Thurles for the first time since 1998.

Clonmel Óg had wind advantage in the first half but it was the Thurles side that started the stronger and they were leading by 0-3 to 0-1 after ten minutes. Full forward, Aidan McCormack had the opening point and Tommy Doyle pointed two frees before Michael O’Brien had a point from a free for Clonmel Óg. Durlas Óg were dominating at half back and midfield and their forwards were getting plenty of the ball. Two Thurles goals in a three minute spell midway through the half were to prove decisive. In the 11th minute following a good save by the Clonmel goalie, Darren Green Durlas Óg’s wing forward, Darragh Ronayne was on hand to finish to the net and three minutes later a long range free from Denis Maher deceived the goalie and ended up in the back of the Clonmel Óg net to give Durlas Óg a 2-3 to 0-1 lead. The Clonmel side fought back and full forward, Martin O’Brien hit two good points to reduce the deficit. Durlas Óg finished the half with Denis Maher scoring a great point from a ‘65’ into the wind and Aidan McCormack adding two points from play to give the Thurles team a 2-6 to 0-3 interval lead.

Clonmel Óg needed a good start to the second half but it was Durlas Óg that started impressively with a Robert Murphy goal after two minutes followed by a Tommy Doyle point from a free. The Clonmel side would have been further behind were it not for a brilliant save by goalie, Darren Green from a rasping shot from Aidan McCormack. Clonmel Óg began to come more into the game but they couldn’t find a way through a well drilled Thurles defence. Durlas Óg further extended their lead with points from Denis Maher, substitute Aidan Loughnane and Aidan McCormack to give them a commanding 3-10 to 0-3 lead with five minutes remaining. Victory was well and truly sealed when Robert Murphy scored a great individual goal hitting an unstoppable shot to the net from 20 metres. The scoring was completed by Durlas Óg’s impressive full forward, Aidan McCormack adding two further points to give his team a well deserved victory.

This was an excellent display by Durlas Óg who added the under 14 ‘A’ title to the Feile na nGael title won earlier in the year. Rory O’Shea and Denis Maher were commanding in the centre of the defence and were ably assisted by Shane Dempsey and David Maher. Michael Russell was prominent at midfield while Robert Murphy was a great leader in attack and he was well supported by Aidan McCormack who score six points from play and Tommy Doyle.

Clonmel Óg are a much better team than the scoreline suggests. They played some great hurling to get to the county final but the occasion appears to have got to some of their players and they didn’t perform to the best of their ability. They were well served by goalie, Darren Green, Ross Mullane, Graham Quinn, Cian Hogan, Shane Fagan and their top performer, Martin O’Brien who always looked dangerous when in possession and was very accurate from placed balls.

Durlas Óg: J.P. Dempsey; Patrick Dunne, Rory O’Shea; Padraic Crone; Shane Dempsey, Denis Maher (1-2), David Maher; Stephen Maher, Michael Russell; Darragh Ronayne (1-0), Robert Murphy (2-0), Donal O’Gorman; Tommy Doyle (0-3), Aidan McCormack (0-6), Cian Treacy. Substitutes: Philip Purcell, Aidan Loughnane (0-1), Aidan Barrett, Brian Keane, James Morrissey, Kevin Smith, Niall Bohan, Ross Kealy, Mark Shannon, Sean Moroney, Mark Lanigan, Ciaran Stapleton, Colin Shorley, James Lyons, Kyle Loughman, Paul Morrissey.

Clonmel Óg: Darren Green; Tony Cantwell, Ross Mullane, Dean Horton; John O’Brien, Graham Quinn, Adrian Shannon; Cian Hogan, Declan Ryan; Eric Smith, Shane Fagan, Jason Hahessey; Stevie O’Connell, Michael O’Brien (0-4), Stephen O’Reilly Substitutes: Brian Smith, Mark Aherne, Thomas Power, Darragh Kearney, Shane Hogan, Seanie Barrett, Simon Ahern, Mark Burns, Adam O’Leary, Dylan Cahill, Glen Slator, Colom O’Connell, Declan O’Brien.

Referee: John Cleary (Knockshegowna)