County Under 16 'A' Hurling Final 2005

Durlas Óg …………… 1-17 

Moyle Rovers……. ….  1-6

Durlas Óg retained their Campion Insurance Group County Under 16 ‘A’ hurling title following victory over Moyle Rovers at Cashel on Saturday.  Durlas Óg led from the first minute and they were always in control against a gallant Moyle Rovers side.  The Thurles side got some delightful scores hitting 1-12 of their total from play.

Durlas Óg were quickly into their stride and midfielder Padraic Maher hit two good long range points in the opening two minutes.  Further points from Michael Cahill, Eoghan Dwyer and Maher again had Durlas Óg leading by 0-5 to nil at the end of the first quarter.  With Michael Cahill dominating at centre back and Padraic Maher outstanding at midfield for the Thurles side Moyle Rovers found it very hard to get a supply of ball to their forwards.  The South champions got their first score in the 17th minute when full forward Brian Smith hit a point to narrow the gap.  Durlas Óg finished the half the stronger with wing forward Michael Keane scoring two points and Patrick Leahy on target from a free while Moyle Rovers Sean Carey expertly cut a sideline over the bar from 45 metres to leave the half time score Durlas Óg 0-8 Moyle Rovers 0-2.

Durlas Óg started the second half as they finished the first scoring seven unanswered points through Padraic Maher (3), Michael McGrath (2) and Patrick Leahy (2 frees) in the opening twelve minutes to give them a commanding 0-15 to 0-2 lead.  Moyle Rovers had their best period of the match during the next ten minutes winning much more possession and putting the Thurles defence under pressure.  Durlas Og’s goalie Bill McCormack brought off a great save from Brian Smith to deny Moyle Rovers a certain goal.  Three Moyle Rovers pointed frees from Sean Carey (2) and Ciaran Lorigan reduced the lead but they needed a goal to get back into the match. However it was Durlas Óg who hit the decisive goal in the 25th minute when Patrick Leahy who was now operating at full forward finished to the back of the net after the Moyle Rovers defence failed to clear after sustained Durlas Óg pressure.  Substitute Denis Maher added a point to complete the Durlas Óg scoring.  Moyle Rovers Sean Carey pointed a free before Peter Acheson completed the scoring with a great goal in the 29th minute.  It was too little too late as referee John Ryan’s full time whistle sounded moments later and a superior Durlas Óg team had deservingly retained their county title.

This was Durlas Og’s 10th  under 16 title and they gave a very competent display with many excellent players throughout the field.  Bill McCormack was a confident goalie.  The full back line of Kevin O’Gorman, Stephen Dorney and Laurence Burke were very solid with Michael Cahill outstanding at centre back.  Padraic Maher was very impressive at midfield and he contributed six points.  Ciaran O’Shea had a very good second half while Patrick Leahy, Eoghan Dwyer and Michael Keane were prominent in attack.

Moyle Rovers who won the county under 14 title last year are making great progress in underage hurling.  Many of their team are young enough for next year and no fault could be found with the displays on Saturday of Paddy Burke, David Foley, Peter Acheson, Ciaran Lorigan, Sean Carey and Brian Smith.

Durlas Óg: Bill McCormack; Kevin O’Gorman, Stephen Dorney, Laurence Burke; Brian Callanan, Michael Cahill (0-1), Damien Grimes; Padraic Maher (0-6), Ciaran O’Shea; Eoghan Dwyer (0-1), Patrick Leahy (1-4), Michael Keane (0-2); Michael McGrath (0-2), John Joe Bourke, Rodney Mason.  Substitutes: Shane Maher, Jamie Lennon, Denis Maher (0-1), John Shortt, Sean Smith, Conor Ryan, Michael Russell, Aidan McCormack, Bobby Stakelum, Robert Murphy, Liam Cullen, Darragh Stakelum, Darren O’Neill, Brian Stakelum, John Paul Dwan, Philip Cullen, Keith Clancy.

Moyle Rovers: Paddy Burke; David Burke, David Foley, Ciaran Kenrick; Edmond Burke, Peter Acheson (1-0), David McGrath; Barry Whelan, Ciaran Lorigan (0-1); Ewan Moir, Sean Carey (0-4), Denis McGrath; Thomas Hill, Brian Smith (0-1), Charlie Purcell.  Substitutes: Shane McCormack, John Paul O’Donovan, Liam Carey, Eugene Phelan, Conor Lonergan, Shane Heffernan, Darragh Dwyer.

Referee: John Ryan (Cashel King Cormacs).