Feile na nGael 21st Anniversary

Our All Ireland Feile na nGael winning team of 1990 came together last Saturday to celebrate the 21st anniversary of their win.  The players and their mentors along with the Durlas Óg officers in 1990 were honoured at Pairc na nÓg on Saturday morning.  Durlas Óg Chairman, Tom Meehan welcomed them back to the club and congratulated them on their All Ireland victory and also on winning the county Under 14 hurling and football double in 1990.  Each member was presented with a framed photograph of the victorious teams.  Jimmy Darcy spoke on behalf of the players and Jimmy Coppinger replied on behalf of the team management.  The players viewed the Pairc na nÓg facilities and the many photos on display in the clubhouse.  On Saturday afternoon they had a golf outing at Thurles Golf Club and the day concluded with   a social evening in Coppingers Bar.  Thanks to all those that helped to organise the day and special thanks to the players and mentors of the 1990 All Ireland winning team for their attendance on Saturday.


Feile na nGael 21st Anniversary (Photos courtesy of John O'Loughlin)

The victorious Durlas Og All Ireland Feile na nGael team and their mentors with club officers pictured outside Scoil Ailbhe.  Back Row (L. to R.): Seamus Maher (R.I.P.), John Dunphy, Michael Kennedy, Br. Hickey, Colin Coppinger, Mark King, Barry Long, Raymond O’Riordan, Pat Hackett, Pat Lawlor, Pat McEvoy, Gary Mernagh, Matty Dowd, Bill D’Arcy, Johnny Enright, Gerry Spain, Jimmy Coppinger. Front Rown (L. to R.): Ollie Geoghegan, John O’Dwyer, David Dunne, Mark Wade, Jimmy D’Arcy, Darren Molumby (R.I.P.), Liam Scully, David O’Riordan, Mark Ryan, John Bowe.

All Ireland Feile na nGael title

(Tipperary Star report)

The 1990 Feile na nGael was held in Tipperary and the finals were played in Semple Stadium.

Division 1 Final

Dúrlas Óg 2-4 Kilruane MacDonagh 1-4

Dúrlas Óg, reigning under 12 and under 14 county hurling champions, were the pride of Tipperary on Sunday evening last after they had made history by winning the Christy Ring Trophy in the premier division of Feile na nGael at the expense of county colleagues Kilruane MacDonaghs, the first time that a Tipperary team had won the top competition in the national event.

While Dúrlas Óg made history and were deserving winners, Kilruane MacDonaghs pushed them to their very limits in a splendid Division 1 final.

Kilruane, rural under 14 champions last year, were representing their club for the second time in the history of the competition - they were beaten in 1980 - and started very promising with Declan Darcy and Sean Costello points. A goal from David O'Riordan in the 7th minute brought Dúrlas Óg right back into contention and they continued to play well up to the interval at which stage the sides were level on a 0-3 to 1-0 scoreline.

They started the second half in flying fashion with John Enright opening the scoring and within a minute David Dunne with a fine goal set them on their way. Although much the better side they were never able to relax and a Sean Sheppard goal in the 12th minute after a great save from Mark Wade put them under pressure coming towards the end of the twenty minutes play, before Patrick Lalor and Johnny Enright had scores to put the seal on victory.

The entire Dúrlas Óg side played well in the second half but it was chiefly the efforts of Mark Wade in goal, Mark King at full back, Colm Coppinger, Jimmy Darcy, David O'Riordan, David Dunne, Johnny Enright and Ollie Geoghegan that caught the eye most.

For Kilruane MacDonaghs Michael Haverty, Michael Ryan, Mark Kenneally, Michael Mulcahy, Declan Darcy were best.

Dúrlas Óg: M. Wade, C. Coppinger, M. King, M. Kennedy, M. Dowd, J. Darcy, G. Mernagh, P. Hackett, D. O'Riordan, L. Scully, D. Dunne, O. Geoghegan, J. Enright, P. Lalor, J. Dwyer.
Sub. R. O'Riordan.

Kilruane MacDonaghs: K. O'Brien, D. Kenneally, M. Haverty, E. Troy, C. Ryan, M. Ryan, M. Kenneally, M. Mulcahy, A. Mulcahy, D. Darcy, S. Sheppard, W. Brennan, T. Brennan, M. O'Leary, S. Costello.
Sub. R. Casey.

Referee: W. Barrett (Ardfinnan)

The Under 14's had a most successful year in 1990 as they won both the County Under 14 hurling and football titles and they also won the Turas na nOg as a result of which they won a trip to the All Ireland finals.
Durlas Og - County Under 14 hurling champions 1990

Back Row (l. to r.): D. Maher, Ned Cornally, Sean Ryan, Raymond O'Riordan, Barry Long, Darren Molumby (R.I.P.), Pat Hackett, Colin Coppinger, Matty O'Dowd, Mark Wade, Gary Mernagh, John Dwyer, Mark King.
Front Row (l. to r.): John Callanan, Damien Harris, Jimmy Darcy, Pat Lawlor, Liam Scully, Ollie Geoghegan, David O'Riordan, Johnny Enright, John Bowe, Michael Kennedy, David Dunne, Mark Ryan.


Durlas Og had to pull out all the stops to get the better of St. Mary's (Clonmel) in the county hurling semi final. Our final opponents were once again Kilruane MacDonaghs and this match, which promised much, drew the biggest crowd of the year to a juvenile fixture. It was played in Borrisoleigh on August 19th and Durlas Og confirmed the form they had shown in winning the All Ireland Feile na nGael title. At half time we were leading by 2-4 to 1-0 and the North champions had no answer to us in the second half and we ran out convincing winners on a scoreline of Durlas Og 5-9 Kilruane MacDonaghs 1-10.


Durlas Og - County Under 14 football champions 1990


Back Row (l. to r.): Seamus Maher (R.I.P.), Raymond O'Riordan, Matty O'Dowd, Barry Long, Darren Molumby (R.I.P.), Benny Maher, Mark King, Cathal Daly, Pat Hackett, John Dunphy. Front Row (l. to r.): Pat Lawlor, Jimmy Darcy, Johnny Enright, Mark Ryan, David O'Riordan, Denis Manton, Gary Mernagh, Bill Darcy.
We defeated Galtee Rovers in the county football semi final and the final was a repeat of the Under 12 contest two years previously when Ardfinnan were the winners. The game was played at Golden on September 15th and Durlas Og comfortably overcame the challenge of the South champions on this occasion.  Despite missing a number of scoring opportunities in the first half we still led by three points at half time and were in front by 2-12 to 2-3 at the final whistle.  It was the second year in a row that Durlas Og completed the county Under 14 hurling and football double.
Durlas Og and Kilruane MacDonagh renewed rivalry in the Turas na nOg to decide on the club to win the free trip to the All Ireland finals.  We came out on top by the narrowest of margins in an exciting and well contested game played at Borrisoleigh.  Final score Durlas Og 3-6 Kilruane MacDonaghs 4-2.
A fabulous year for Durlas Og Under 14's in 1990 and we look forward to welcoming them back to Pairc na nOg on Saturday .