Latest News‎ > ‎

Do you remember?

posted Jan 4, 2015, 5:56 AM by J Smith
As we look forward to another season we take a look back over the years and recall some of Durlas Og memorable moments.

Ten years ago ....... 2005
The Under 14's and Under 16's recorded a county hurling double. The Under 14's defeated Clonmel Og by 4-12 to 0-4 (Match Report) in the county final played in Semple Stadium.  Moyle Rovers were defeated by 1-17 to 1-6 (Match Report) in the County Under 16 final at Cashel.  The Under 14's also won the county Feile na nGael final to complete a great year.

Durlas Og County Under 14 ‘A’ Hurling  and County Feile na nGael Champions 2005

Back Row (L. to R.): Denis Moore, James Morrissey, Greg Cully, Sean Moroney, Donal O’Gorman, Brian Keane, Aidan Loughnane, Niall Bohan, David Maher, Michael Russell, Robert Murphy, Shane Dempsey, Rory O’Shea, Denis Maher, Aidan McCormack, Stephen Maher, Padraic Crone.  Front Row (L. to R.): Kevin Smith, James Lyons, Paul Morrissey, Philip Purcell, Tommy Doyle, Patrick Dunne, Darragh Ronayne, J.P. Dempsey, Ross Kealy, Aidan Barrett, Kyle Loughman, Ciaran Stapleton, Mark Lanigan, Cian Treacy.

Durlas Og County Under 16 ‘A’ Hurling Champions 2005

Back Row (L. to R.): John Paul Dwan, Robert Murphy, Shane Maher, Brian Stakelum, Conor Ryan, Laurence Burke, Michael McGrath, Eoghan Dwyer, Bill McCormack, Patrick Leahy, John Joe Burke, Brian Callanan, Kevin O’Gorman, Stephen Dorney, Denis Maher, Michael Russell, Aidan McCormack, John Shortt, Stephen Maher, Philip Cullen.

Front Row (L. to R.): Keith Clancy, Liam Cullen, Darragh Stakelum, Jamie Lennon, Rodney Mason, Padraic Maher, Damien Grimes, Michael Keane, Ciaran O’Shea, Michael Cahill (Capt), Darren O’Neill, Bobby Stakelum, Sean Smith, Cian Treacy, David Maher.

Twenty year ago..........1995

Ger “Redser” O’Grady captained the under 16’s to Mid and county titles.  We scored a 3-10 to 2-7 win over Holycross-Ballycahill in the Mid final.  We overcame Toomevara after a replay in the county semi final and defeated Mullinahone by 2-11 to 1-9 in the county final at Cashel.

Durlas Og County Under 16 Hurling Champions 1995

Back Row (L. to R.):Wayne McLeish, Franz. Mockler, Jamie Barrett, Tommy Kennedy, Ger “Redser” O’Grady (Capt), Ollie Skehan, Michael Butler, Ronan Spain, Liam Dorney, Stephen Mason, M. Skehan, Raymond Molumby.

Front Row (L. to R.): James O’Riordan, T.J. Maher, Thomas Harold, Lar Mackey, Kevin Jordan, Niall O’Riordan, Frank Molloy, Gary Coppinger, Tommy Collins, Brian O’Loughlin, Barry McLoughlin.

25 years ago........................... 1990

History was made in 1990 when Dúrlas Óg became the first Tipperary club to win the Feile na nGael Division 1 title. The Feile returned to Tipperary after a nineteen year absence and pride of place went to our under 14’s who defeated Kilruane MacDonaghs in the final in Semple Stadium.  The under 14’s also defeated Kilruane in the county hurling decider and they completed an exceptional year by winning the county football final at the expense of Ardfinnan.  Another highlight during the year was the official opening of Pairc na nÓg.

Durlas Og All Ireland Feile na nGael Division 1 Champions 1990

Back Row (L. to R.): Seamus Maher, John Dunphy, Michael Kennedy, Br. Hickey, Colin Coppinger, Mark King, Barry Long, Raymond O’Riordan, Pat Hackett, Pat Lawlor, Pat McEvoy, Gary Mernagh, Matty Dowd, Bill D’Arcy, Johnny Enright, Gerry Spain, Jimmy Coppinger.

Front Rown (L. to R.): Ollie Geoghegan, John O’Dwyer, David Dunne, Mark Wade, Jimmy D’Arcy, Darren Molumby, Liam Scully, David O’Riordan, Mark Ryan, John Bowe.