Latest News‎ > ‎

Durlas Og - Tipperary Star Notes

posted Feb 3, 2012, 6:32 AM by Unknown user   [ updated Feb 3, 2012, 6:57 AM ]
The following notes were published in this weeks Tipperary Star:
Annual General Meeting
The Annual General Meeting was held in Pairc na nOg on Friday night last. Fr. Lanigan Ryan celebrated Mass in the clubhouse, prior to the Chairman, Tom Meehan, opening the meeting , with a warm welcome to all.

Sean Coffey, Club Secretary, produced a most detailed report in which he outlined details of the achievements of each team during the year. His report was very thorough, giving the results of all matches involving our championship teams, in addition to an overview of all events in the club during 2011.

Sean having completed three years as Secretary stated that he was stepping down from the position. He thanked everyone that helped and supported him in the last three years and he wished the club ever continued success. Treasurer, Liam Mc Carthy read the financial report into the minutes, and Liam has to be commended once more on his dedication to the office of Treasurer.

Outgoing Officers (L to R): Sean Coffey, Tom Meehan and Liam McCarthy

Chairman, Tom Meehan in his address thanked his fellow officers and committee members and all the mentors of the various age groups. He congratulated our Under 16's on winning the Mid and County titles. Tom who was not seeking re-election as Chairman extended thanks to all those that assisted him over the last six years and wished his successor the very best.

Our thanks to both Tom and Sean for their great work and all their efforts as Chairman and Secretary respectively.
2012 Officers and Commitee pictured  following the Annual General Meeting
The elections of officers resulted in Ger Sammon being elected as Chairman and P.J. Bowden was elected as Secretary. The full list of officers for 2012 is:

President: Michael Carroll

Vice-Presidents: Michael Murphy; Larry O’Connor.

Life Vice Presidents: Jimmy Coppinger; Gerry Spain; Br. Keane; Connie Higgins; Fr. O’Rourke; Dick Callanan; Michael Kennedy, Jim Dwyer

Chairman: Ger Sammon

Vice Chairman: Sean Costello; Francis Ralph

Secretary: P.J. Bowden

Assistant Secretary: John O'Connell

Treasurer: Liam McCarthy

Assistant Treasurer: Thomas Mawe

Co. Board Draw Co-Ordinator: Ger Donnelly

Registrar: Tom Meehan

P.R.O.: John Hickey

Schools Liaison Officer: Paddy Moore

Youth Liaison Officer: David O'Dwyer

Coaching Co-Ordinator: Eoin Costello

Alcohol & Substance Abuse Prevention Officer (ASAP Officer): Richie Stapleton

Caretaker: Bill Dwyer.


Durlas Og Chairman, Ger Sammon and outgoing Chairman Tom Meehan.
Under 14
The under 14’s returned to training last week, and football training continues on Thursday evening at 7. 00 pm. On Saturday last, we had a very useful challenge against Moyle Rovers.

 2012 Officers (L to R): Liam McCarthy (Treasurer), Ger Sammon (Chairman) and P.J. Bowden (Secretary)