Latest News‎ > ‎


posted May 15, 2011, 1:06 PM by Unknown user
Durlas Óg ‘B’ and ‘C’ teams recorded victories in the Premier Under 12 Mini Football League Mid finals at Templetuohy on Sunday.  The ‘B’ team defeated Moycarkey/Borris ‘B’ by 4-4 to 3-2 in the Group 3 final and the ‘C’ team were victorious by
2-4 to 1-3 over Boherlahan/Dualla ‘B’ in the Group 4 final.


The first match of Mid finals day was the Group 4 final between Durlas Og ‘C’ and Boherlahan/Dualla ‘B’.  We got off to a great start with Ciaran Murphy and Michael Mulcaire scoring points in the opening minutes. Boherlahan replied with a point but almost immediately Michael Mulcaire pointed a Durlas Og free to restore our two point advantage and we ended the half with David Shorley scoring a great goal to give us a 1-3 to 0-1 lead at the interval.  A feature of the first half was the excellent goalkeeping of Durlas Óg ‘keeper Eoin Kerrane who brought off a number of exceptional saves.


A Boherlahan goal early in the second half left two points between the teams.  They came in search of further scores but our defence held firm.  A well worked move that started in our full back line ended with Michael Mulcaire finishing to the Boherlahan net to give us a 2-3 to 1-1 lead with ten minutes remaining. Boherlahan kicked two points to reduce the deficit but a great point from near the sideline by Dylan O’Shaughnessy completed the Durlas Óg scoring and when the full time whistle sounded Durlas Óg were winners on a final score of Durlas Óg ‘C’ 2-4 Boherlahan/Dualla ‘B’ 1-3.


This was a tremendous overall display from our boys with all players contributing to the win.  As already mentioned Eoin Kerrane was an excellent goalie while our defence was solid throughout the match.  The midfield won some great possession and our forwards used the ball intelligently and kicked some great scores.


Team and scorers: Eoin Kerrane, Jack Bambrick, Cillian Donaghy, Dylan O’Shaughnessy (0-1), Aidan Butler (Capt), Aaron Martin, Patrick Scully, David Shorley (1-0), Ciaran Murphy (0-1), Michael Mulcaire (1-2), Jamie Donovan, Callum Hall, Stephen Dorney.


After the excitement of the Group 4 final it was then the turn of our ‘B’ team to take to the field for the Group 3 final against Moycarkey/Borris ‘B’.   This was a keenly contested match between two evenly balanced teams. A goal from Edward Cullen inside the first minute gave us the perfect start and this was followed by a Darren Fahy point from a free.  Moycarkey then scored a goal and immediately from the kickout we worked the ball up the field to Kieran Moloney who expertly finished to back of the Moycarkey net.  Our goalie, Rory Fogarty was called on to make a number of fine saves and Fred Crowley cleared off the line before Frank McKevitt completed the first half scoring with a point to leave the scoreboard reading Durlas Óg 2-2 Moycarkey/Borris 1-0 at half time. 


Moycarkey scored a goal within twenty seconds of the restart and they followed with a point to leave the minimum between the teams. Our defence had to be vigilant as Moycarkey came in search of the equaliser. We responded with a Dylan Costello goal followed by a pointed free from Darren Fahy to give us a five point advantage and when Kieran Moloney scored our fourth goal with five minutes remaining the cup was on its way to Thurles.  Frank McKevitt extended our lead with a point but it was Moycarkey who had the final say adding 1-1 in the closing minutes to leave the final score Durlas Óg ‘B’ 4-4 Moycarkey/Borris ‘B’ 3-2.


Again another great victory for our Under 12’s.  All players gave it their very best and they played some excellent football both in defence and attack.


Team and scorers: Rory Fogarty, Sean Butler, Fred Crowley, Barry McGrath, Shane Fitzpatrick, Darren Fahy (0-2), Conor Murphy (Capt), Frank McKevitt (0-2), Edward Cullen (1-0), Kevin Bracken, Kieran Moloney (2-0), Ben Murphy, Dylan Costello (1-0), Shaun Kennedy, Evan Moore, Bill Shanahan.


Congratulations and well done to both teams on their victories.  They will now go forward to Semple Stadium next Saturday for the County finals of the Premier Under 12 Mini leagues.


Congartulations also to the mentors, P.J. Bowden, Martin Doyle, Michael McGrath, Peter Creedon, Gerry O’Hagan, Martin Fitzpatrick and Tom O’Sullivan.