Latest News‎ > ‎

Durlas Og wins County Under 16 Hurling Final

posted Jan 5, 2011, 5:25 AM by Unknown user

Durlas Og defeated Nenagh Eire Og by 1-19 to 1-15 in the County Under 16 'A' hurling final on Saturday in Roscrea.

We got the better of the opening exchanges and led by 1-5 to 0-2 at the end of the first quarter.  Conor Lanigan was our goal scorer.  Nenagh came more into the game in the second quarter and they reduced the deficit to leave four points (1-9 to 1-5) between the team at the interval.  The second half was tense and exciting with both teams scoring some excellent points. Durlas Og were never headed with Nenagh reducing the deficit to a point on six occasions during the half. There was only a point between the teams with two minutes remaining.  Durlas Og finished strongly scoring three points to run out four point winners after a thrilling final played in a very sporting manner.

This was our 13th County Under 16 'A' hurling title and this victory was our sixth time to win the title since 2002.  Congratulations and well done to the panel and their management team of Sean Corbett, Tommy Maher, Tony Lanigan and John O'Connell.

The victorious panel was Tom Meehan, Caley Maher, Jack Lineen, Peter Coman, Aidan Ryan, Ronan Maher, Sean Wade, Kevin Dunne, Stephen Cahill, Conor Lanigan, Padraic Phelan, Dylan Bourke, Cathal Ryan, Graham Maher, Aidan Doyle, David Fogarty, David Russell, Tom Tierney, Ruairi Dwan, Jack O'Connell, Paddy Carroll, Brian Hanrahan, Tony O'Brien, Brendan O'Loughin, Jack O'Dwyer, Stephen Ryan.

Hard luck to Nenagh Eire Og who have been our great rivals over the past number of years. They were most gracious in defeat.

Match report and photos to follow.