Latest News‎ > ‎

Match Report - Mid Peil na nOg final

posted Jan 5, 2011, 3:33 AM by Unknown user

Durlas Og 0-10 Loughmore/Castleiney 1-05 

(By Joe Bracken, Mid Bord na nOg P.R.O.)

The first honour of the new season was secured by Durlas Og in a two point victory over Loughmore/Castleiney in Holycross last Saturday afternoon, in the Jimmy Coppinger sponsored Peil na nOg U14 Mid Final. With both teams having secured victories in their respective semi-finals moments earlier, all players steadied themselves and served up a terrific game of football played in a tremendous spirit.

Early points from Robert O’Connell and Rory Purcell were traded to keep scores level and it was soon evident a close match was in prospect. Luke Kelly and Faolain Linnane scored long range points for Durlas Og while Billy McCarthy also had a great individual point, other points coming from Sean Butler and Adam Garrett. For Loughmore the ever industrious Bill O’Connell was a constant threat before Mark Butler pointed from a 20 metre free and Liam Gleeson scored from play. Possession ebbed and flowed leaving the half time score seven points to three.

Loughmore/Castleiney started the second half with purpose, and with two unanswered points from midfielder Brian McGrath the margin was down to two. Furthermore, Robbie Hanrahan in the Durlas Og goal came to his sides rescue on successive occasions as he saved two quite similar deflected long range efforts onto the post denying Loughmore/Castleiney of the goal they craved. In contrast, Durlas Og, however, were picking off points with three without reply from Rory Purcell, Thomas Skehan and Shane Lanigan Ryan. Loughmore rallied again and after a fine solo run, Bill O’Connell fired a low drive which went narrowly wide of the Durlas Og goal. In the ensuing passages of play Loughmore gained possession once more and after fine movement down the right the ball was played in for Darren Crowe to fire home the games only goal and which was also to be the last score of the game. Referee, John Butler called an end to proceedings to the delight of Durlas Og and their followers. Durlas Og were strong up the middle with Paul Sammon, Faolain Linnane, Bill McCarthy and Luke Kelly very effective. While Loughmore/Castleiney will be naturally disappointed they too had very prominent performances from Bill O’Connell, Brian McGrath, Mark Butler, Shane Manton, Robert O’Connell and Kieran Maher.

Mid Bord Chairman, Joe Kennedy in thanking both teams for their excellent play presented the trophy to winning captain Luke Kelly in the presence of proud Peil sponsor and Durlas Og stalwart Jimmy Coppinger. Brendan Meagher, Loughmore/Castleiney Juvenile Chairman, congratulated Durlas Og and wished them every success in their pursuit of county honours.

Durlas Og: Robbie Hanrahan, Jack McDonnell, Paul Sammon, Geoff O’Reilly, Darragh Coffey, Faolain Linnane 0-01, Glen Kerrigan, Billy McCarthy 0-01, Cathal Moloney, Sean Butler 0-01, Luke Kelly 0-01, Shane Lanigan Ryan 0-01, Rory Purcell 0-02, Thomas Skehan 0-01, Adam Garrett 0-02, Subs; Seamie Hanafin, Willie Tierney.

Loughmore/Castleiney: Peter Nyland, Anthony Ryan, Kieran Maher, Stuart Dudley, Brendan Leahy, Shane Manton, Liam Gleeson 0-01, Bill O’Connell, Brian McGrath 0-02, Robert O’Connell, Glen Dudley, Mark Butler 0-01, Eoghan Ryan, Diarmuid Meagher, Darren Crowe 1-00, Sub; Kieran Connolly.

Referee: John Butler Upperchurch/Drombane.