Latest News‎ > ‎

Match Report - Mid Peil na nOg Final

posted Mar 15, 2013, 10:10 AM by Unknown user

Jimmy Coppinger Féile Peil

Moycarkey-Borris 4-06 Durlas Óg 1-01

In bitter and harsh conditions, a storming opening quarter by Moycarkey-Borris laid the foundations of a famous victory ground out by teamwork and a fine combination of skill against Durlas Óg in their home ground of Littleton last Sunday, as they became the initial winners of the new cup kindly sponsored by Jimmy Coppiner for Féile Peil. From the throw-in the Moycarkey lads laid all their attacking cards on the table as their forward aces dictated the play, in turn giving Durlas Óg no time to settle as they trumped their hand. Philip Ryan and Jack Hackett were highly influential throughout and excellent interplay between the pair led to Moycarkey’s first two points from Jack Fallon and Shane Maher. Rory Darmody was not going to be outdone either as his lobbing ball in was just out of reach of the Durlas Óg net minder as he raised his sides first green flag in the second minute.
Michael Purcell led the first charge for Durlas Óg but his long free in was parried out as the Moycarkey defence snuffed out the attack. As the ball was cleared down field it was Hackett who took possession and after good endeavour fed Anthony McKelvey who made no mistake from close in to find the net and put his side in a dominating position.
Then after a spell of solid work from both sides, the ‘Borris brigade of  Michael Murphy and Fallon combined to set up Rhys Shelly who dinked in from the corner to snatch a point a little over midway through the half.
Mikie Stakelum trying hard for Durlas Óg made fine progress when gaining possession in the middle of the park and his good through ball found Daniel Moloney who pointed with more than a quarter of the half remaining. Fallon though had other ideas and kicked over a sweet point following a good solo attack. His partner in midfield Philip Ryan also having a superb half was equal to the task and he in turn set up Shelly who lost his marker bearing in on goal to get Moycarkey’s third of the half. However, Durlas Óg with Patrick Moloney and Adam Hickey starting to cause problems fed the ball across to Daniel Moloney whose high ball in from the right touch line found the net to leave it 3-04 to 1-01 at the break.
Starting the second half with more urgency in their play and nothing to lose Durlas Óg took the game to Moycarkey which resulted in a free for the Thurles lads. However, Stakelum was to see his attempt at the posts drop short and the danger was averted. No such problems at the other end as Hackett pointed from in front of the posts. Darmody added a point to his earlier goal as he was made to work hard for it midway through the half.
Though Durlas Óg fought gamely though Purcell, Stakelum and Patrick Moloney the result was never in doubt from early on and when McKelvey netted for the second time, referee Sean Everard called time on the first final of the year as it went the way of Moycarkey-Borris.
 A fine day at the office then for a well drilled Moycarkey-Borris side who will take beating in the county stages of the competition. Durlas Óg will be first up to support them in that role and will have no complaints as they were beaten by the better team on the day.
Mid Bórd na nÓg chairman, Joe O’Sullivan in presenting the new cup to Caolan O’Brien, captain of Moycarkey-Borris, once again reminded all gathered and thanked Jimmy Coppinger for his generous sponsorship of the new cup for Féile Peil, replacing the shield which Jimmy has sponsored this illustrious competition with for the past twenty years.
Moycarkey-Borris;:PJ Tunstall, David O’Donnell, Kieran Dunne, Philip O’Sullivan, Kieran Kearney, Caolan O’Brien (C), Donal Fitzpatrick, Philip Ryan, Jack Fallon 02, Michael Murphy, Jack Hackett 01, Shane Maher 01, Rhys Shelly 1-01, Anthony McKelvy 2-00, Rory Darmody 1-01, Subs; Sean O’Meara, Declan Ryan, Michael Maher, John Kirwan, Diarmuid Maher, Jonathan Ely.
Durlas Óg: Liam Power, Anthony Cooney, Evan Moore, Seamie Doyle, Patrick Moloney, Michael Purcell, Conor O’Hagan, William Creedon, Adam Derby, Mikie Stakelum, Adam Hickey, Daniel Moloney 1-01, Kieran Moloney, Christopher Carew, Aiden Butler, Subs; Jack Bambrick, Patrick Bowden, Jack Croke, Rory Fogarty, Shane Dunne, Conor Murphy, Aaron Martin.

Referee: Seán Everard (Moyne-Templetuohy)

(Match Report by Joe Bracken, Mid Bord na nOg PRO)