Latest News‎ > ‎

Match Report - Mid Under 12 Hurling Final

posted Aug 15, 2015, 7:39 AM by John Smith
Mid Bord na nOg Match Report

DURLAS ÓG…………………….................2-7

HOLYCROSS/BALLYCAHILL................ 0-3


While Holycross seemed to have slept in, Durlas Og were up early and had their homework done – a Darragh Stakelum lead scoring spree in the first half set up this deserved win.

After early scores from Darragh Stakelum (0-2) and Daniel Ruddy (0-2) Durlas Og went on to dominate and led by 1-7 to no score, a real mountain to climb for the challengers especially after Stakelum had bagged the all important goal. 

Holycross brought a new found energy to the second half, Tadhg Gould, David Fogarty among others were more assured on the ball.  Aaron Holland’s lengthy puck outs helped mount the pressure and a hard earned free from Gary Dwan got the scoreboard up and running.  No chance to build momentum, Urban Nolan sent a ball up the left side the ball made it’s way across to Aidan Butler who found the back of the net.  Holycross’ Joe Caesar from the stand sideline converted a free that will live long in the memory, 2-7 to 0-2.  Durlas Og were under increasing pressure, luckily for them their opponents shooting was not what it could be.  Chance after chance went astray until a superb effort from David Fogarty moving away to the side he split the posts.  It was fitting that it would be the last score.

No arguments about the end result.  Holycross have had a good year winning Group 2 football while Durlas Og have banished the memories of their football defeat.  Captain Emmet Fogarty received the trophy from Chairman Martin Bourke.

Durlas Og: Aidan Stakelum, Jack O’Mara, Killian Rafter, Jock Fogarty, Emmet Fogarty (Capt), Urban Nolan, Philip Hayes, Daniel Ruddy (0-2), Darragh Stakelum (1-5), Cathal McElgunn, Conor Ruddy, Aidan Butler (1-0), Tristan Twomey. 

Holycross/Ballycahill: Aaron Holland, Toby Lambe, Tadhg Gould, Joe Caesar, Jimmie Lahart, Luke Galvin, Cian Hevey, David Fogarty (0-1), Eoin Craddock, Gary Dwan (0-2), James O’Dwyer, Jim Ryan, Stephen Maher, T.J. Ryan. 

Referee: Kevin Jordan.