Latest News‎ > ‎

Match Report - Mid Under 14 'A' football final

posted Jan 5, 2011, 4:05 AM by Unknown user

Joe O’Sullivan Bus Hire U14A Mid Football Final

Durlas Og 2-06 Moycarkey/Borris 0-08 

(Report by Joe Bracken, Mid Bord na nOg PRO)

The last football final in this years divisional championships was played in Templetouhy last Monday night between two great rivals with Durlas Og edging out Moycarkey/Borris by four points in the end. A nervous start to the match by the Moycarkey/Borris defence was to be their achilles heel leaking 2.01 inside seven minutes without reply. And although they tried valiantly at the opposite end they couldn’t break down the Durlas Og rearguard led by Paul Sammon to arrest the tide. The brace of goals coming from the boot of captain Adam Garrett either side of a Willie Tierney point. Billy McCarthy had a point for Durlas Og after a forty five dropped short before Jack Cleary opened the Moycarkey/Borris account with a free on seventeen minutes. Garrett added to his impressive tally with a point minutes later, with Eric Fanning scoring a second for the ‘Borris boys just before the break, half time score 0-02 to 2-03. Durlas Og kicked two early wides before Jack Cleary had two more frees pointed to reduce the deficit. With an inch not being asked or given both full forwards traded points, with the pick of the points of the match coming from Fanning who hit over a beautiful point from the right corner, using the wind to great effect. Sean Butler pointed from play to be quickly cancelled out by Liam Lanigan . Niall Heffernan had a free tipped over for a point when Moycarkey went in search of the all elusive goal. However, it was not to be as both sides tagged on a point apiece before referee Tom McGrath blew for an end to proceedings on a most competitive final indeed. Mid Bord na nOg Chairman accompanied by sponsor Joe O’Sullivan presented the cup to winning captain Adam Garrett. Garrett can be very pleased with his own individual performance, with Darragh Coffey, Billy McCarthy and Paul Sammon all prominent as well. The early goals conceded hindered the Moycarkey/Borris cause where Jack Cleary, Tommy O’Gorman, Michael Bergin, Eric Fanning, Jessie McKenna and Liam Lanigan all had dominant spells.

Durlas Og; Robbie Hanrahan, Jack McDonnell, Paul Sammon, Seamie Hanafin, Glen Kerrigan, Faoilain Linnane, Darragh Coffey, Cathal Moloney, Billy McCarthy 0-01, Rory Purcell, Thomas Skehan 0-01, Willie Tierney 0-01, Adam Garrett 2-01, Luke Kelly 0-01, Sean Butler 0-01 Subs; Conor Cassidy, Mark Conway, Shane Lanigan Ryan, Mark Wade, Jack Carroll, Colin Doyle, Sean Fitzgibbon, Aaron McCormack, Matthew Fogarty, Jack Derby, Colin Lee, Thomas Fogarty, Sean Dwan, James Symons, Daniel Taylor, Evan Hughes, Brian Fallon, Kieran Keane, Jeff Dwan O’Reilly.

Moycarkey/Borris; Tom Murphy, J.J. Darmody, Liam Lanigan 0-01, Sean Darmody, Brian Maher, Niall Heffernan 0-01 01f, Eoin Hayes, Tommy O’Gorman 0-01 01f, Chris McCullagh, Jessie McKenna, Cameron Grace, Michael Bergin, Jack Cleary 0-03 3f, Eric Fanning 0-02, Tomas Darmody, Subs; Kieran Cummins, Liam Cashin, Joe Doran, Tom Hayes, Shane Ryan, James Whelan, Patrick Whelan, Conor Moore, Anthony McKelvy, Kevin O’Regan, Shane Skelly.

Referee; Tom McGrath, Loughmore/Castleiney.