Latest News‎ > ‎

posted Jan 5, 2011, 5:18 AM by Unknown user
Match Report - Mid Under 16 'A' Hurling Final


Kevin Darmody Ltd. U16A Hurling Final

Durlas Óg 0-15 Holycross/Ballycahill 1-05

The last championship final for Mid Bord na nÓg in 2010 saw victory go to Durlas Óg after they defeated Holycross/Ballycahill in a subdued contest last Saturday afternoon in the Ragg. The opening exchanges though were brisk and lively as each side sought to gain advantage, with great blocking from both sides an early highpoint. Indeed, it was the Holycross boys who seemed to settle early with Pa O’Dwyer in fine form at full back and soon had the first score with a Jamie Woods point from a free on the twenty metre line. Dylan Bourke, who had a superb game for Durlas Óg was then fouled on his own sixty five metre line. After dusting himself down he launched an excellent strike between the posts to tie up the score. Not to be outdone, however, Paul Morris showed what he could do and pointed a sixty five for Holycross/Ballycahill to put them back in front in the fifth minute. This however would prove to be the last score of the first half for Holycross and ultimately be their downfall. In contrast Durlas Óg led by Bourke in midfield went on a scoring spree between the ninth and seventeenth minute firing over eight points, Bourke contributing four. Amazingly, it would be another ten minutes before the next score came when Stephen Cahill pointed after nice interplay with Cathal Ryan. Holycross/Ballycahill weren’t without chances in the first half either, Tom Meehan made a great save from Matty Stakelum and Thomas Slattery Fitzgerald after a fine solo run down the right saw his shot blaze wide of the left hand post, one of five wides for Holycross in contrast to one for Durlas Óg, half time score 0-10 to 0-02.

Dylan Bourke had an early sixty five for Durlas Óg but fired wide and Holycross/Ballycahill still struggled to find the posts shooting three more wides inside the opening ten minutes of the half. They got a lifeline in the tenth minute when Gavin Shelly was fouled on the edge of the square and Jamie Woods breached the crowded Durlas Óg line with the resulting twenty metre free to register the games only goal. Buoyed up by the goal two resulting ‘65’s led to Paul Morris scoring from play after a quick one two with Shelly. Both sides traded points from frees in the eighteenth minute, Durlas Óg remarkably now only opening their second half account. However, once they opened their second half account they didn’t let up and quickly extinguished any Holycross/Ballycahill hopes of a late revival, outscoring their opponents four points to one in the final ten minutes. Referee Martin Ryan called a halt to proceedings to the delight of the Durlas Óg team and supporters. Mid Bord na nÓg Chairman Joe Kennedy presented the cup to winning captain Dylan Bourke with P.J. Butler representing Kevin Darmody Ltd, sponsor, also in attendance.

As noted previously Dylan Bourke had a terrific game for Durlas Óg not alone being their main scorer but his overall general play was of the highest calibre. He was well assisted by Sean Wade, Jack Lineen and Cathal Ryan when moved outfield, among others worthy of mention.

The Holycross/Ballycahill forwards never got going and as a result relied on their backs to keep them in the game, where captain Pa O’Dwyer was their star player, time and again sweeping the ball out of defence. There too giving great assistance were Shane Ryan, Kieran O’Dwyer and Liam Moloney.

Durlas Óg; Tom Meehan, Caley Maher, Jack Lineen, Peter Coman, Aidan Ryan (0-01), Ronan Maher, Sean Wade, Kevin Dunne, Stephen Cahill (0-02), Conor Lanigan (0-02), Padraig Phelan, Dylan Bourke (C)(0-08, 04f, 01 ’65), David Fogarty, Cathal Ryan (0-02), Aidan Doyle, Sub used, Graham Maher, also on panel, David Russell, Tom Tierney, Ruari Dwan, Jack O’Connell, Paddy Carroll, Brian Hanrahan, Tony O’Brien, Brendan O’Loughlin, Jack O’Dwyer, Stephen Ryan.

Holycross/Ballycahill; Liam Moloney, Dónal Mulcahy, Pa O’Dwyer (C), David Carroll, Raymie Nally, Kieran O’Dwyer, Shane Ryan, Paul Morris (0-03, 01f, 01 ’65), Thomas Quinlan, Matty Stakelum, Seanie Nally, Gavin Shelly (0-01), Luke O’Mara, Thomas Slattery Fitzgerald, Jamie Woods (1-01 f), Subs used, Malachy Gavin, Calum O’Connor, also on panel, Ciaran Maher, Conor Ryan, Jack Carey, Robert Stakelum, Jamie Hartnett.

Referee; Martin Ryan Moyne/Templetouhy.