Latest News‎ > ‎

Premier Mini Football Leagues - Mid Finals Match Reports

posted May 22, 2011, 2:25 PM by Unknown user   [ updated May 22, 2011, 2:34 PM ]
The culmination of the football series in this year’s Premier U12 Mini Leagues took place on Sunday last commencing with
 finals in groups 2, 3 and 4 in Templetuohy on Sunday evening and the group 1 final taking place in the Ragg on Monday

As the preliminary rounds progressed under the new format this year, it soon became apparent that earlier apprehensions
about the new mini leagues system were quickly consigned to the bin as all clubs embraced the ethos of the new leagues.
The games remained very competitive throughout the league campaign and the same was to be expected in the finals.

In a break with previous years, both teams competing in each group final were also guaranteed at least one game in Semple
Stadium in the county final stages, which are on this Saturday, May 21st.

Weather conditions weren’t too bad in Templetuohy; a cool stiff breeze blowing in from the village end was the only
adverse item to report. Noted piper, Gerard Neville, from the Sean Treacy Pipe Band, Moycarkey-Borris was on hand before
each final to lead the teams around the pitch in the pre-match parade  and with the pitch in excellent condition the stage was
set then for a cracking evening festival of football.



Doran Oil Ltd
Premier Mini League Football Group 4

Durlas Óg 'C' 2-04 Boherlahan-Dualla 'B' 1-03

The first match up in Templetuohy had Durlas Óg playing into the breeze in the first half yet they made their mark in the
first minute with a point from Micheál Mulcaire. He added a second minutes later as his side settled better. However, with
Roisín Maher getting to grips in midfield for Boherlahan her hard work paid off with a fine point which went over having been smashed against the cross bar and over. Mulcaire added a third before Jamie Donovan hit the back of the Boherlahan net
with his side’s first goal leaving the half time score 1-03 to 01.
Boherlahan-Dualla were fast out of the blocks in the second half and piled on the pressure as they really got into the game.
That pressure paid off in the fifth minute as Padraic Clarke hit his free from left of goal to the top right hand corner of the net
to leave just two between them. With Eoin Kerrane in inspired form in the Durlas Óg goal as he thwarted many a Boherlahan
attack, he gave his team the confidence it needed to stem the Boherlahan tide. Mulcaire took up the mantle outfield as he
scored a second Durlas Óg goal in a good move created by Aaron Martin. Aoife Kavanagh and Joshua O’Dwyer were
making inroads for Boherlahan as Clarke added a point to keep his side in touch. In the final five minutes Dylan
O’Shaughnessy and O’Dwyer trade points as Durlas Óg held out for a hard earned victory.

Mid Bord na nOg Chairman Joe Kennedy, with sponsor Seamus Doran in attendance, presented the cup to winning
captain Aidan Butler after both sides had received their medals.

Durlas Óg had good performances from Micheál Mulcaire, Eoin Kerrane, and Dylan O’Shaughnessy, with Patrick Scully,
Jamie Donovan and Aaron Martin also catching the eye.

Boherlahan-Dualla tried valiantly and had Padraic Clarke, Joshua O’Dwyer, Roisín Maher, Elliot Doherty, Conor Lowth
and Jack O’Riordan among others who played well.

Durlas Óg'C': Eoin Kerrane, Jack Bambrick, Cillian Donaghy, Dylan O’Shaughnessy 01, Aidan Butler (C), Aaron Martin,
Patrick Scully, David Shorley, Ciarán Murphy, Micheál Mulcaire 1-03, Jamie Donovan 1-00, Callum Hall, Stephen Dorney.
Boherlahan-Dualla'B': Luke Kevin, Jack O’Riordan (C), Eoin O’Reagan, Martin Paul O’Dwyer, Joshua O’Dwyer 01, James O’Sullivan, Roisín Maher 01, Conor Lowth, Declan Crosse, Padraic Clarke 1-01, Elliot Doherty, Adam Ferncombe, Niall
Quaid, Aoife Kavanagh,  Jack Maher, James Kennedy, Sean Kavanagh.

Referee: Diarmuid Brennan (Upperchurch- Drombane)



Hayes Hotel
Premier Mini League Football Group 3

Durlas Óg 'B' 4-04 Moycarkey-Borris 'B' 3-02

The second match of the Templetuohy trilogy pitted Durlas Óg against Moycarkey-Borris where both sides served up a high quality match. The game wasn’t a minute old when Edward Cullen hit the back of the Moycarkey net giving his side the early initiative. The majority of the early attempts at the posts came from Durlas Óg with the exception of a Rhys Shelly effort for Moycarkey.  As the pattern of play dictated, it was Darren Fahy who kicked over his first of two points to edge the Thurles boys out a little further. With thirteen minutes gone on the clock, combined Moycarkey play down the right created the opening for Rhys Shelly to fire a superb shot to the net to haul Moycarkey back into it. Their joy was short-lived however, as almost immediately Kieran Moloney was left on his own inside the Moycarkey backs to collect an incoming ball expertly shooting past the keeper to the delight of his team mates. Frank McKevitt added a point to leave it 2-02 to 1-00 at the break.

Moycarkey-Borris blazed into the second half from the off as Shelly found the net with his second in the opening minute. With their tails up they kept up the pressure; Aidan Scott pointing to leave one between them. In what was turning out to be a great day for goalkeepers Rory Fogarty kept the Moycarkey attack at bay with some excellent saves, with Scott also being denied by the cross bar as he goal bound shot went out for a forty five. That was as close as it was to come though as a five minute blitz from Durlas Óg reaped a 2-02 reward without reply, the goals coming from Dylan Costello and a Kieran Moloney second ensuring a gargantuan effort from Moycarkey to wrestle this in their favour in the remaining minutes. Though they gave it one hell of a lash a goal from Scott and a point from Shelly were the only fruits of their labours as the embers of this contest were reluctantly quenched, with Durlas Óg taking the honours in this one.

The teams lined up from the presentation of medals in front of the stand and winning captain Conor Murphy received the cup from Joe Kennedy, Mid Bord na nOg Chairman.

Great displays all round here, with Kieran Moloney, Conor Murphy, Rory Fogarty, Frank McKevitt and Darren Fahy to the fore for Durlas Óg.

While Moycarkey-Borris had excellent performance from Rhys Shelly and Aidan Scott, with good backup play from Diarmuid Maher, Conor Cummins and Ciarán Kirwan.

Durlas Óg'B': Rory Fogarty, Sean Butler, Fred Crowley, Barry McGrath, Shane Fitzpatrick, Darren Fahy 02, Conor Murphy (C), Frank McKevitt 02, Edward Cullen 1-00, Kevin Bracken, Kieran Moloney 2-00, Ben Murphy, Dylan Costello 1-00, Shaun Kennedy, Evan Moore, Bill Shanahan.
Moycarkey-Borris 'B': Jonathan Ely, Mark Heffernan, Pat Hackett, P.J. Tunstall, Conor Cummins, Michael Murphy (C), Sean Mockler, Diarmuid Maher, Sean O’Meara, Ciarán Kirwan, Rhys Shelly 2-01, Bill Hackett, Caolan O’Brien, Aidan Scott 1-01, Ciarán Lonergan, Padraig Blake.

Referee: Andy Murray (Upperchurch-Drombane).
 (Match Report by Joe Bracken, Mid Bord na nOg PRO)