Latest News‎ > ‎


posted Jan 17, 2013, 11:01 AM by Unknown user

We held our Annual General Meeting in the clubhouse last Friday night.  Mass was celebrated by our Club Chaplin, Fr.Thomas O’ Connell prior to the meeting.  The AGM followed and it was very well attended.

Our Chairman, Ger Sammon delivered the opening address, which was followed by a detailed report from Club Secretary, P.J.Bowden.  P.J. delivered an extensive and detailed account of the activities and competitions at all the age levels.

The Secretary noted that this year the Under 6’s competed in blitzes for the first time. Andy Ryan was thanked for organising the blitzes. The under 6's travelled to Holycross, hosted one of the blitzes and played in Dr. Morris Park in October to round off the year.  The Under 8's were involved in the Go Games Blitzes, again organised by Andy Ryan. They travelled to the Kilmacud Tournament in October. The mentors were thanked, as were the Under 16’s who helped out with these groups on Saturday mornings.

The Under 10’s played in 8 blitzes in Tipperary and organised blitzes of their own as well as playing in St.Finbarr’s and Kilmacud. They hosted Wolf Tones in September and one of the highlights of the year was a visit to Whitehall Colmcille, followed by a trip to Croke Park to see the Tipperary v Dublin league match.

The Secretary reported that there were two under 12 teams in action in football and three teams took part in the hurling. The under 12's played well in all their competitions and were unlucky not to have acquired more silverware over the course of the year. Again compliments were paid to the mentors and all who assisted during the year.

In his recount of the year for the Under 14’s P.J. referred to the quality of hurling and football played at this level. The under 14A’s won the Mid Final, and played many challenge matches. They travelled to play in Naas and Durrow, and hosted the annual Phil O’ Meara tournament. Durlas Og won out the under 13 section, and Clarinbridge won out the under 14 section, with both finals being played in Semple Stadium.

The Under 16's played numerous challenge matches throughout the year and won the shield final in the James Stephens tournament, in addition to playing a host of good competitive matches in competition.

The Secretary reported that there was a good showing from Durlas Og on county and divisional squads, with club players on the u14, u15 and u16 Mid football squads. In addition to having players on the U14, U15, u16 and hurling squads.

PJ Bowden also congratulated all the winners in the County Board draw, and thanked Ger Donnelly for his work as club coordinator.

Fundraising efforts by the club including the 25 drive card night, Fantasy Cheltenham were well supported, and the Secretary thanked all those who helped out and of course those who supported the fundraisers.

PJ Bowden expressed his thanks, on behalf of the club to Bill O’Dwyer and Paul Egan for the hard work they put in to keep the pitch and clubhouse in great condition.

PJ also extended his thanks to the Club sponsors Morans, and Coleman Communicaton for their ongoing support.

In addition the Secretary thanked Ann and Declan Costello for their hard work with the Scór competition this year. John Smith and John O’Loughlin were complemented on their work on the website, and thanks were extended to the parents, who helped out with catering during the year, and the efforts of Margaret O’Dwyer and Freda Dunne, were noted and they were thanked for their help throughout the year.

Congratulations were extended to John Smith who was elected County Coaching Officer at the Tipperary Senior Board Convention.

The Treasurer, Liam Mc Carthy, delivered the Treasurers Report before Ger Sammon, Club Chairman addressed the meeting. Ger commended the officers and the mentors for the sterling work being done in the club and he extended his thanks to the parents, and the members, before stating that he was looking forward to another good year for Dúrlas Og.

The next item on the agenda was the election of officers.

Club Officers for 2013

President: Mick Carroll.

Vice Presidents: Michael Murphy, Dr. Larry O’Connor, Jimmy Coppinger and Gerry Spain.

Life Presidents: Br. Keane, Connie Higgins, Dick Callanan, Fr. O’Rourke, Jim O’Dwyer, and Ml Kennedy.

Chairman: Ger Sammon.

Vice Chairman: Francis Ralph, Sean Costello.

Secretary: P.J. Bowden.

Assistant Secretary: John O’Connell.

Treasurer: Liam Mc Carthy.

Assistant Treasurer: To be appointed

County Board Draw Co-Ordinator: Ger Donnelly
Registrar: Tom Meehan

P.R.O.: John Hickey

Schools Liaison Officer: Paddy Moore

Youth Liaison Officer: David O'Dwyer

Coaching Co-Ordinator: Eoin Costello

Alcohol & Substance Abuse Prevention Officer (ASAP Officer): Richie Stapleton

County Board Representative: Sean Costello

Caretaker: Bill Dwyer.