County Under 14 'A' Football Final 2015

DURLAS ÓG……………………..  4-10
CLONMEL ÓG.............................. 1-8


Durlas Og recorded a convincing win over Clonmel Og in the County Under 14 ‘A’ football final at sunny Templetuohy on Saturday. The Thurles boys gave a fantastic display of football to bring home the county cup for the first time since 2003. 

We got off to the perfect start.  Straight from the throw in we won possession and 15 seconds later Paddy Creedon had the ball in the back of the Clonmel net. The South champions replied with two points but that man again, Paddy Creedon, scored his second goal in the 10th minute and this was followed in the 16th minute with a Cian Stakelum goal to leave the scoreboard reading Durlas Og 3-0 Clonmel Og 0-3. Our defence were under pressure for the remainder of the half as the Clonmel boys tried to reduce the deficit.  Their only reward was a point and this was cancelled out with points from Jack Lanigan and Joe Dwan to give us a 3-2 to 0-4 interval lead. 

Durlas Og were quickly into their stride in the second half and a point from a Jack Lanigan free opened the scoring inside the first minute and this was followed by a Joe Dwan point.  The same player was denied a goal in the 4th minute when his shot came back off the post with the Clonmel goalie beaten. Jack Lanigan showed his accuracy from frees when he kicked another point.  It looked at this stage that there were no way back for the Clonmel boys but they had other ideas.  They recorded 1-2 without reply to leave five points between the teams with fifteen minutes remaining.  Durlas Og were finding it difficult to win possession and they were camped in their own half of the field. Then came the best passage of play of the match.  Paddy Creedom won a Durlas Og kick out and the ball was quickly worked up the field to Jack Lanigan and he expertly finished to the back of the Clonmel net. There was no way back for Clonmel and further Durlas Og points from Eoin Purcell, Jack Lanigan (2), Jack Kelly and Paddy Creedon put the icing on the cake and the county title was Durlas Og’s for the fifth time in our history and our first since 2003. 

This was once again another excellent display from our boys and the quality of the football was a joy to watch.  Darragh Stakelum was very assured in goals and his kick outs set up many attack.   The full back line of Conor Stapleton, Patrick Stakelum and Henry Fogarty were rock solid and they were ably assisted by wing backs Jordan Fahey and James Arnstrong while Kieran Costello was very commanding at centre back. Paddy Creedon and Joe Dwan worked tirelessly at midfield.  Cathal Hayes led the attack from centre forward with wing forwards Eoin Purcell and Cian Stakelum always showing for the ball.  Full forward Jack Lanigan finished with a personal tally of 1-5.  Corner forwards Jack Kelly and Sean Collins won much possession and their movement off the ball made life difficult for their opponents.  

After the match our captain Patrick Stakelum was presented with the cup by Tom Dawson, Chairman Tipperary Bord na nOg amid jubilant scenes. 

Team and scorers: Darragh Stakelum; Conor Stapleton, Patrick Stakelum, Henry Fogarty; James Armstrong, Ciaran Costello, Jordan Fahy; Paddy Creedon (2-1) Joe Dwan (0-2); Cian Stakleum (1-0), Cathal Hayes, Eoin Purcell (0-1);  Jack Kelly (0-1), Jack Lanigan (1-5), Sean Collins.  Subs:  Luke Fogarty, Oisin O’Brien, Stephen Donovan, Cian McDonald, Dean Fanning, Dean O’Halloran, David Mawe, Conor Fogarty, Luke Beresford, Aaron Mulcaire, Peter Wall, Sean Madden, Conor Whitehead, Eoghan Ryan.