Mid Under 14 'A' Hurling Final 2015

Durlas Óg……………….1-20  Moycarkey/Borris……………….4-10

Durlas Óg are Mid Under 14 ‘A’ hurling champions following victory over Moycarkey/Borris in a high quality and thrilling final at Holycross on Saturday. The hurling was of the highest standard and both teams gave it their all.  Durlas Óg staged a great second half comeback after having being six points in arrears at the interval they led by seven points with five minutes remaining but had to withstand a Moycarkey fight back in the final minutes to hold on for a one point win. A feature of the match was the unerring accuracy of Jack Lanigan who finished with a personal tally of 14 points.

It was all Moycarkey in the opening minutes and they had 1-4 on the scoreboard before Durlas Óg opened their account with a point from a Jack Lanigan free in the 9th minute.  This score settled the Thurles boys and they came more into the game as the half progressed. Moycarkey who had the advantage of the wind in the first half scored another goal in the 18th minute to give them a nine points lead. Durlas Og with points from Jack Lanigan (2 frees), Paddy Creedon and Joe Dwan outscored their opponents by 4 points to one for the remainder of the half to leave the score at the interval Moycarkey/Borris 2-6 Durlas Óg 0-6.

Durlas Óg took the game to Moycarkey from the start of the second half. Jack Lanigan with 6 points (3 frees, 3 ‘65’) and Paddy Creedon with a point from play had the match all square with ten minutes remaining. This set the stage for a grandstand finish and the crowd was not to be disappointed. Durlas Óg took the lead for the first time in the match when Jack Lanigan was again on target with a point from a free but Moycarkey quickly equalised. Paddy Creedon and Joe Dwan registered points to put Durlas Óg in front again and this was followed by a Darragh Stakelum goal.  The switch of Darragh Stakleum from goal to corner forward for the second half certainly paid off.  The scoreboard now read Durlas Óg 1-16 Moycarkey/Borris 2-9 with five minutes to be played.  It was now edge of the seat stuff.  Eoin Purcell pointed and Jack Lanigan split the posts with two frees to leave seven points between the sides. It looked like game over but there was more drama to come.  Moycarkey had a goal and this was immediately followed by a point to reduce the deficit to three points. Durlas Óg didn’t panic and Jack Lanigan pointed from play. Moycarkey came back again and scored their fourth goal of the game to leave it a one point game.  However from the puck out Kevin Jordan sounded the final whistle to bring a pulsating game to an end.

All Durlas Óg players gave outstanding displays and their determination and never say die attitude had to be admired.  The back defended heroically while the midfielders and forwards worked extremely hard.  Special mention must go to Jack Lanigan who gave a display of free taking that will live long in the memory of those in attendance.  He scored 14 points – 10 frees, 3 ‘65’s and one from play in a remarkable display of marksmanship.

The Durlas Og panel was: Darragh Stakelum, Sean Collins, Conor Stapleton, David Mawe, Cian Stakelum (Capt), Kieran Costello, Patrick Stakelum, Paddy Creedon, Luke Beresford, Eoin Purcell, Joe Dwan, Luke Fogarty, Jack Lanigan, Oisin O’Brien, James Armstrong, Jack Kelly, Dean O’Halloran, Dean Fanning, Conor Fogarty, Sean Madden, Emmet Fogarty, Jack O’Meara, Urban Nolan, Peter Wall, Jordan Fahey, Cathal Hayes, Henry Fogarty, Aaron Mulcaire.

The Durlas Óg mentors were Paddy Kenny, Aidan Ryan, Conor Lanigan, Jim Dwyer, Paul Ryan, Richie Stapleton, Declan Costello and Dara Purcell.