Mid Under 12 ‘A’ Football Final
(Match Report by John Smith, Mid Bord na nOg PRO)


Durlas Óg..........................0-3 

Durlas Óg retained the John J. Ronayne Ltd. Under 12 ‘A’ football title following a one point win over Moycarkey-Borris in a very low scoring final at The Ragg on Monday evening. Even though scores were scarce this didn’t take from a highly entertaining match that featured some great football by two very committed teams.

The scoreboard attendant didn’t get much work in the first half with both teams scoring a point each. The second half saw Durlas Óg score two points before Moycarkey replied with a point with five minutes remaining. They went in search of the equaliser but the Durlas Óg defence were excellent and held on to retain the Mid title.

Both teams are to be commended for serving up a cracking game and all players gave their all as they went in search of victory with both defences outstanding. The Durlas Óg rearguard was ably led by Jack Derby at centre back and his wing backs Rory Purcell and Faoliain Linnane were prominent both in defence and attack. Moycarkey-Borris central defence of Liam Lanigan and Tommy O’Gorman cut off many dangerous Durlas Óg attacks.

The two number 8’s were on target in the first half with Niall Heffernan opening the scoring with a Moycarkey free in the 4th minute and Billy McCarthy equalising for Durlas Óg in the 14th minute. Eric Fanning brought off a great save in the Moycarkey goal from a Luke Kelly effort. There were some top class displays in the opening half from Durlas Óg’s tigerish corner back Glen Kerrigan, Jack Derby who was majestic at centre back and the strong Luke Kelly was causing problems for the Moycarkey backs. Moycarkey’s Tommy O’Gorman was dominant at centre back, Niall Heffernan at midfield and wing forward Shane Skelly were very prominent in the opening twenty minutes.

The second half saw Durlas Óg take the lead in the 2nd minute with a point from substitute Daragh Coffey and when Billy McCarthy kicked another following a quick free from Sean Butler in the 5th minute it looked like that Durlas Óg were getting the upperhand. That was not to be the case as the Thurles team failed to score for the remainder of the game. Moycarkey pushed forward with Chris McCullagh, Liam Cashin and Tom Murphy catching the eye but it took them a further ten minutes before they could find a way through a well marshalled Durlas Óg defence led by full back Paul Sammon. Tom Hayes kicked a point with five minutes remaining to leave the minimum between the teams. They went in search of the equaliser but the Durlas Óg defence were excellent with corner back Jack McDonnell making a very timely interception in the dying minutes to prevent an almost certain Moycarkey score. This was to be Moycarkey’s last opportunity as the final whistle sounded moments later and Durlas Óg had retained the Mid title.

Teams and scorers:

Durlas Óg : Robbie Hanrahan; Jack McDonnell, Paul Sammon, Glen Kerrigan; Rory Purcell, Jack Derby Faolain Linnane; Billy McCarthy (0-2), Cathal Moloney; Colin Doyle, Mark Conway, Sean Butler; Adam Garrett, Thomas Skehan, Luke Kelly. Substitutes used: Cathal Egan, Aaron McCormack, Daragh Coffey (0-1), Seamie Hanafin, Ronan Kennedy.

Moycarkey-Borris : Eric Fanning; J.J. Darmody, Liam Lanigan, Sean Darmody; Brian Maher, Tommy O’Gorman, Chris McCullagh; Niall Heffernan (0-1), Liam Cashin; Shane Skelly, Micheal Bergin, Kieran Cummins; Shane Ryan, Tom Murphy, Tom Hayes (0-1).

Referee : Hugh Coghlan (Moyne-Templetuohy)