Mid Under 16 'C' Football Final 2012

Match Report by Joe Bracken, Mid Bord na nOg PRO

Joe O’Sullivan Mini Bus Hire

Mid U16C Football Final

Durlas Óg (B) 3-06 Upperchurch-Drombane 2-03

The first football championship final of the season saw victory go the way of Durlas Óg as they overcame a determined Upperchurch-Drombane side in very testing conditions in Drombane on Tuesday, May 1st last. Durlas Óg made most of wind advantage in the first half and having got themselves in front they were never behind, though a spirited second half fight back from the ‘Church boys had the Thurles lads under the cosh for a time.

The opening score, a point, came courtesy of a second minute free fro
m Michael Wade for Durlas Óg before Loughlin Ryan cancelled it out with a pointed free of his own minutes later. Durlas Óg were more comfortable on the ball though and were soon making inwards on the Upperchurch goal. Good interplay from their forwards saw Wade go for goal bringing the best out of Gavin Ryan to deny him. After Rory Purcell had seen his fine effort go over the bar for Durlas Óg, Ryan was again at his best, this time pulling off a fine save from Thomas Fogarty.

In spite of a couple of wides, the ‘Church were back on level terms coming up to midway in the half  and had seemed to weather the storm. Parity was short lived however, as Fogarty fed a fine ball into Brian Fallon who hit the roof of the net from close range giving Ryan no chance in goal. The impetus was now with Durlas Óg and they continued to harass the Upperchurch defence. In a polished move on twenty one minutes their perseverance was rewarded as Purcell making a run at the defence found Wade in the clear, who in turn laid off to Fogarty who made no mistake in raising a green flag from the edge of the square. Further points from Wade saw Durlas Óg ahead at the break 2-04 to 0-2.

The game seemed over as a contest six minutes into the second half as the industrious Thomas Fogarty cut his ground shot back across the goal to the incoming Wade, who hit the net with his first time shot, again giving the keeper no chance.
Upperchurch-Drombane were right back in it by the tenth minute though, as two goals in a two minute spell arrested their slide. Brian Harty brought up from defence to the forward line at half time was making a huge difference and he was rewarded with a goal in the ninth minute. TJ Butler followed suit immediately as Niall Grant turned provider having been lined up by Jack Butler. Durlas Óg tightened up in defence following these attacks and were soon back on the attack themselves with Wade kicking over a free to increase his already fine contribution.

This Upperchurch-Drombane side were now stringing some nice moves together and were rewarded with a sixty five. From the resulting play Loughlin Ryan pointed which would prove to be his sides last score of the game midway through the half. Wade likewise had the Durlas Óg last score with thirteen minutes remaining. When Gavin Ryan was brought out of goal to the inside forward line for Upperchurch it made Durlas Óg modify their defence to quell his influence. Though stalemate prevailed for the final quarter, infringements in front of goal saw two goal attempts for Upperchurch-Drombane ruled out as they chased victory which could have changed things. As it was Durlas Óg held out however and welcomed Jonathan Cullen’s final whistle.

With Mid Bord na nÓg Chairman, Joe O’Sullivan also competition sponsor, Vice-Chairman, Willie Clohessy, presented the cup to winning captain Glenn Kerrigan, with Joe also in attendance.

Durlas Óg had some excellent displays from Thomas Fogarty and Michael Wade of note, with Rory Purcell, Conor Cassidy, Cathal Moloney and Jamie Curtis also prominent.

Upperchurch-Drombane will probably rue the wide count in the end, as their best Loughlin Ryan, Niall Grant, Ronan Gleeson, Toby Clancy, Brian Harty and Jack Brennan tried hard throughout.

Durlas Óg; Jack Fitzgibbons, Colin Doyle, Jack Derby, Glenn Kerrigan (c), Robbie Hanrahan, Conor Cassidy, Cathal Moloney, Daniel Taylor, Rory Purcell (0-1), Jamie Curtis, Thomas Fogarty (1-00), Michael Wade (1-05, 04f), Brian Fallon (1-00), Subs; Kieran Keane, Sean Fitzgibbons, Jack Carroll, Colin Lee, Sean Dwan, Ciarán Shanahan, Jack McDonnell.

Upperchurch-Drombane; Gavin Ryan, Brian Harty(1-00), Conor Ryan, Pat Lavery, Toby Clancy (c), Ronan Gleeson, Brian Sheridan, Dean Carey, TJ Butler (1-00), Jack Butler (01), Michael Lavery, Niall Grant, Loughlin Ryan (0-2, 0-1f), Subs; Darragh Brennan, Patrick Bourke, Cathal Purcell, Callum Murray, Denis Ryan, Eanna Ryan.

Referee; Jonathan Cullen (Loughmore-Castleiney)